Momma for Mallards

duckling1smallI got a call from Marylee on Friday night. Almost 9 o’clock pm. It can’t be a bird call, it’s too late, it’s too dark, I’m at Petsmart, please don’t be a bird call.

“Don’t you answer your phone?” she shouted at me.

“I am shopping at Petsmart with Scruffy. What is going on?” I nervously asked.

“There is a lady at Trump Marina with two ducklings. No momma in sight.  They followed her to her boat and she has them in a box. Can you PLEASE pick them up?”

“Yes, give me her phone number and I will call her.”

30 minutes later, I now have two peeping, teeny mallard ducklings in the back seat. Scruffy nervously pricks his ears to every tiny peep that comes from the box. It is getting late and I am due to drive to John’s house tonight. What should I do? I can’t drive the ducklings anywhere tonight. I am going to have to care for them now until I can get them to a rehabber.

When we arrive home, I carry the ducklings and Scruffy from the car to the yard. Scruffy bolts for the door as I gingerly carry my precious load into the house. I set up the ducks in the bathroom, soften some duck chow with water and place it next to them in the tub. Yummy! They eagerly dig into the chow, peeping loudly.

Fast forward to Saturday morning. Ducklings are now at John’s house, a playground for wild animals. They run around the yard, jump into the pond, swim around to their heart’s content.  I watch them patiently and cautiously, as a momma would. Are they in the water too long? are they cold? hungry? I grab them from the duckweed and dry them with a towel. They huddle next to me for warm and security, snuggling next to each other, peeping softly.

Fast forward again, Sunday afternoon. I carry the box of ducklings to the rehabber who takes them with a smile. “I will take good care of them,” he reassures me.

“I know you will, thanks again!” I try to sound cheerful. I had really grown attached to those little fuzzy-headed babies. I can’t raise ducks, I tell myself. That is why there are people trained to care for injured or orphaned animals. He will make sure the ducklings are well cared for and then released back into the wild where they belong…

ducklings4small
Tell me a story, I'm sleepy!
ducklings5small
That was a good one! LOL!
ducklings6small
Ducklings in duckweed

27 thoughts on “Momma for Mallards

  • May 25, 2012 at 12:52 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan what is your favorite bird explain your answer

    Reply
    • May 30, 2012 at 12:30 pm
      Permalink

      Elisa,
      My favorite bird is the barn swallow. They are a beautiful bird that acts like it has a lot of fun flying through the sky.

      What is your favorite bird?

      ML

      Reply
  • May 25, 2012 at 12:34 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan when where all mallards first invented?

    Reply
    • May 30, 2012 at 12:31 pm
      Permalink

      Shalese,
      Mallards weren’t invented. They came about when all the other birds and animals of the world were created.

      ML

      Reply
  • May 25, 2012 at 12:31 pm
    Permalink

    were was the first egg laid

    Reply
  • May 25, 2012 at 12:27 pm
    Permalink

    when was the duckling born and what type was the bird

    Reply
  • May 24, 2012 at 9:33 am
    Permalink

    when was ducklings 1st born?explain your answer.

    Reply
  • February 6, 2012 at 10:57 am
    Permalink

    aww! were did u take those pictures at? and was that a bird egg javion was holding. and a bird the girl was holding 🙂

    Reply
  • June 28, 2010 at 8:11 am
    Permalink

    can you tell which duckling is a male or female from one another? how long did john have them? do you know how old are the ducklings?

    Reply
    • June 28, 2010 at 3:50 pm
      Permalink

      Mark,
      We can’t tell them apart yet, but we think the male is the larger one. John still has the ducklings in his pond! Well, he brings them in the house at night. We aren’t sure how old they are, but I think they are about 1 week old!

      Great questions!
      ML

      Reply
  • June 28, 2010 at 8:10 am
    Permalink

    was the field day good to u?

    Reply
  • June 27, 2010 at 4:37 pm
    Permalink

    they look sooo cute<3!!!

    Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 11:02 am
    Permalink

    I like the story about the duckings. How old are the duckings? that was sad when you had to let them go.

    Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:59 am
    Permalink

    Where did you put the ducklings? Was Sruffy trying to eat the ducklings. Did you release the ducklings?

    Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:47 am
    Permalink

    I wanted to know how big the ducklings are

    Reply
    • June 27, 2010 at 4:38 pm
      Permalink

      The ducklings are getting bigger, but they are still quite small. I will get some more pictures and post them here, soon!

      Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:25 am
    Permalink

    There very cute. Thats sad you had to leave them. Things always happen suddenly. Like when I broke my wrist on a Monday morning. I hope you get to see the ducklings again!!!!!

    Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:17 am
    Permalink

    Mary what did you do with the duckling? Did you let them go or kept them?

    Reply
    • June 27, 2010 at 4:39 pm
      Permalink

      Kaila,
      You are so cute, calling me Mary! The ducklings are still paddling around John’s pond! He and Brianna (his daughter) are taking good care of them.

      See you Monday!
      ~MBL

      Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:15 am
    Permalink

    The ducklings are sooo cutee were did you put them and wat was the green grass in the water i did not know wat duckweed meant so i thought it was just a type of regular weed

    Reply
    • June 27, 2010 at 4:42 pm
      Permalink

      Manny,
      Duckweed is a small plant that grows on the top of calm water.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lemnaoideae

      Thank you for calling me about the injured bird. Please feel free to call me again if anything like that happens again.

      ~MBL

      Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:10 am
    Permalink

    Hi, Ms. Lenahan where did you put the baby ducklings? I love those pictures you took. Did Scruffy sniff the box?

    Reply
    • June 27, 2010 at 4:45 pm
      Permalink

      Kerlanda,
      Yes, my Scruffy boy did sniff the box. Then he would whimper every time the ducklings would make any noises! I think he wanted to eat them!!

      Your teacher,
      ML

      Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:06 am
    Permalink

    Where did you put the ducklings? Was Scruffy trying to get the ducklings in the back seat when you were driving?

    Reply
    • June 22, 2010 at 10:10 am
      Permalink

      We put the ducklings in a box, then put them in the back. Yes, Scruffy was trying to get at the ducklings! I was afraid that he would try to eat them!

      Reply
  • June 22, 2010 at 10:06 am
    Permalink

    How old were the ducklings? Where did you release the ducklings?

    Reply
    • June 22, 2010 at 10:13 am
      Permalink

      Hugo,
      I think the ducklings were a day or two old. We did not release the ducklings yet because they need to be cared for. When ducklings are so small, they need to be kept warm and safe.

      The ducklings will be released in 2-3 months when they are old enough to take care of themselves.

      Great questions!
      ~Ms. L

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar