At the Refuge…again!

alexandra6

 

Alexandra, Noelia and I sure worked up a sweat today! After helping Al and Peter with the baby purple martins, we chopped down a lot of old milkweed. The Refuge has a very nice garden in front of the visitors’ center. There was tons and tons of milkweed there this year, but it has gone to seed and needed to be cut back. If we want monarchs to lay eggs here this summer and fall, they need fresh milkweed leaves. The milkweed we cut back was also covered with aphids. Aphids are a very strange and interesting insect that lives off the milkweed plant.alexandraalexandra2alexandra4alexandra5

5 thoughts on “At the Refuge…again!

  • October 15, 2014 at 8:09 pm
    Permalink

    I love bird hey are cut.

    Reply
  • August 22, 2009 at 5:33 pm
    Permalink

    On the last picture was that a baby purple martin.

    Reply
    • August 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm
      Permalink

      @arielle609,
      Arielle,
      Yes, it is a baby purple martin. The girls had a nice time helping out at the refuge.

      How are you? You can call me anytime!

      Ms. Lenahan

      Reply
  • August 19, 2009 at 6:07 pm
    Permalink

    You are an amazing person Mary. I am sorry I will miss your presentations next week. I will be at NCTC taking a photography class all week long. Nature photography is my passion. Check out my website and let me know what you think of my work.

    Reply
    • August 24, 2009 at 7:48 am
      Permalink

      @tom graf,
      Thanks for the compliments, Tom. You really made me smile! I am sorry you won’t be there, but I am sure you are excited about your photography workshop.

      I will check out your website!
      Mary

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar