This Saturday–Shut Off Your Lights!

This Saturday, March 28th at 8:30pm is Earth Hour. 

What exactly is Earth Hour? It is one hour, 60 minutes, 3600 seconds, where you turn off your lights and televisions and video games.

Why exactly do we do this? By turning off your lights, you are casting a vote for the Earth. If you don’t, you are casting a vote for Global Warming. It is that simple.

What exactly can I do instead of watching tv? This is where you can get involved. Post here what you plan on doing this Earth Hour. Be creative! The most creative ideas will be featured here on our blog–complete with a photo of the most creative Earth Hour participant! Will it be you?

11 thoughts on “This Saturday–Shut Off Your Lights!

  • April 1, 2009 at 8:30 pm
    Permalink

    I really liked the youtube video. I was watching it from home on the computer. I didnt do Earth Hour because the people in my house were doind suff that involve electricity. I really wanted to do it but i couldnt.Even though I am scared of the dark I would have still done it if my family did not have so much things to do. If I was able to do it I would have stayed outside with my brother and cousin and we would race and play games outside. Well I hope you understand why I couldnt do it.BYE!!!

    Reply
  • March 28, 2009 at 5:46 pm
    Permalink

    My sons and I are going to play a card game called Mille Bornes by candlelight. Afterwards, we’ll take the dogs for a walk with flashlights (we always take flashlights because there are NO streetlights in my neighborhood).
    What are you going to do, Ms. Lenahan?

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 3:58 pm
    Permalink

    Earth is about is atime to spend with your family. For Earth Hour don’t go to sleep, you can just burn marshmallows, go camping and sing songs with your framily. Earth Hour brings your family closer so that you can spread love. Not only that but it saves electricity. People always think they have to play a game to have fun. I think that loving your family is better than any video game. You can tell scary stories to chill yourself. I think Earth Hour was made to bring families closer together and not farther apart, to save relationships, or in another way to love. I think it also means never to be wasteful. Having no electricity will happen to you if you don’t believe me. Earth Hour is a special hour that is what it means to me.

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:59 pm
    Permalink

    Earth Hour On earth hour is a time to spend time with your familt. Theres always loys of activites to do with your friends and family in the dark. Like for example you can tell scary stories, go outside put blankets on the ground and lay to look up into the sky, or you might want to go camping. What I would like to do is read lots of books next to a candle. Thats what I would like to do on Earth Hour.

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm
    Permalink

    Earth Hour

    What my family and I plan on doing is light candles,play games,read,make stuff,and eat snacks thats what we plan on doing for earth hour!!

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm
    Permalink

    What Will I Do On Earth Hour? My family on Earth Hour would tell scary stories, talk about how we spent our day and talk to other people so they could do Earth Hour. All of my family and friends would be there and everyone would be having a good time. This is what I will do for Earth Hour.

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:57 pm
    Permalink

    On Earth Hour you have to turn off the lights frp, 8:30 to 9:30. I will turn off all the lights. Me and my family can read a book. We can go outside and write what we hear. We can look at the stars and name the stars. We can look at the family pictures.Then we can go to sleep. If we go to sleep th lights would be off for more than a hour. That is what I would do for Earth Hour.

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:56 pm
    Permalink

    What I would do on Earth Hour is while the lights are out I will light up some candles and play a game of checkers with my mom OR go outside to gaze at the stars with my mom [or with my cousin Joe.

    Reply
  • March 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm
    Permalink

    What I would do for Earth Hour is shut off all my lights. I will also tell my grandma, my grandpa and the rest of my family to shut off all our lights and all the electricity. I would go to my grandpa and ask if i could use his telescope. I will tell my parents that I will go outside and look at the stars. I love the night stars.

    Reply
  • March 26, 2009 at 7:18 am
    Permalink

    Earth hour is for people around the world to save electricity. But for me it is for people around the world to spend time with there family. This year for Earth Hour I want to spend it with my family. We could maybe go outside with a flashlight, or tell stories with a candle. Anything is fine, as long as I’m with them.

    Reply
  • March 26, 2009 at 7:04 am
    Permalink

    Earth Hour is when in our neihborhood we close our lights at 8:30. W e do this because it makes Earth a better planet and it stops wasting our electricity. Instead of watching tv you can close thge tv and get up and play.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar