Wednesday, February 18-Republica Ecuador School

Hi everyone!

Thank you for the very nice comments from teachers, students and parents alike! I am sorry I did not keep up with my blogging the whole time, but it was difficult to get internet access as well as it was very hard to find the time to blog when you leave at 8:30am every morning and get home after 11pm every night!

So, here I am to tell you more about my trip!

Today we went to the Republica Ecuador School on the island of Pacanda in Lake Patzcuaro. The school is rather small compared to Leeds Avenue School! There were approximately 45-50 students in grades 1st-6th. I visited all of the classrooms, but spent most of my time with the 3rd/4th grade class. The kids were very sweet and some were shy. Here are a few photos of the students in their traditional clothes:


Here are some of the boys performing a traditional dance! Don’t they look handsome?

The mothers of the school children prepared a feast for all of us! Here is a woman preparing the corn husks to make tamales. Ms. Lenahan even put her hands in the masa and made a few herself!

Here is one of the mothers preparing tortillas. The students eat tortillas with beans and rice every day for lunch. Do you think they might want to eat pizza on Fridays like we do?

It is time for me to go to bed, so I will end this post here. I will continue telling you more about my magical Mexico journey tomorrow. Until then–buenos noches niños y niñas!

 

19 thoughts on “Wednesday, February 18-Republica Ecuador School

  • February 6, 2012 at 11:15 am
    Permalink

    were you in mexico then ?

    Reply
  • February 6, 2012 at 11:08 am
    Permalink

    that’s such a wonderful picture i wonder where you were when you took th e picture.

    Reply
  • January 31, 2011 at 6:17 pm
    Permalink

    Mexico rules!I haven’t been there in like 5 to 7 years.

    Reply
    • January 31, 2011 at 6:42 pm
      Permalink

      I loved it there! I really fell in love with the people and the country. Such wonderful people! I agree; Mexico does rule!

      Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:18 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan in picture 1 I can see your butterfly shirt.
    (^o^)!

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:17 pm
    Permalink

    That is so cool that you made tamalles. What did it feel like? Did you have fun making it? Could you explain to me how you felt making it? I can tell you had a great time in Mexico.

    Making tamales was really cool! At first I was afraid to make the tamales because I didn’t know how. Then I just picked up the corn husk and started wrapping it around the masa. You have to make sure you wrap the husk around the entire ‘chunk’ of masa so that none of it oozes out! Then you tie the ends of the corn husks and you are done! The mothers then took the tamales and steamed them in a big pot of water. Yummy!

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:17 pm
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan it looks like you had a great time in Mexico. Their isn’t many kids in the school you went to. But it looks like they had a good time as well. While you were in Mexico , did you go to any other schools? Did you go to any other exciting places?

    Kelly–yes, I did have a great time in Mexico. No, we did not go to any other schools and yes, I did go to many other exciting places. You will just have to wait and read all about them here!
    Kelly– Can you reread your comment and find two grammar/spelling mistakes? When you find them, come to me and we will fix them together.

    I love reading your posts and I hope you keep going on the blog.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:16 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan I can see pictures 1,2,3 the kids have their traditional clothes on.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:11 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan my family eats tortillas. We also eat tamales too!

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:11 pm
    Permalink

    MS.Lenahan I cant believe they eat tortillas with rice and beans for lunch everyday.That way diffrent from what we eat for lunch.

    Lee’Sa,
    Do you think you would get bored eating tortillas and beans every day for lunch? Yes, it is very different than the way we eat lunch.
    Your teacher,
    Ms. L

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:06 pm
    Permalink

    In the picture of the lady making food was she making tortillas?

    Stephanie,
    In the last picture, the mother was making tortillas for our feast. Those tortillas were so good!
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:23 pm
    Permalink

    No I don’t think they would like to eat pizza like us because they are so used to tortillas with beans and rice.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:18 pm
    Permalink

    Wow just from the pictures I can tell the dance was awsome.And just by looking at the food it makes me hungry.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:12 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan the pictures that I saw was so cool. I think they would eat pizza on Fridays like we do. Did you show the third and fourth graders how to make the caterpillars or did they know how to do it by themselves?

    Malachi,
    I did not show them how to make the caterpillars; another teacher showed them how to make them.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:11 pm
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan if you were in Mexico how come you were at an Ecuador school? At the school was it really nice? Did you learn how to do division in a different way? If you did it is very cool.

    Adam,
    That was just the name of the school, it wasn’t a school in Ecuador. You are pretty smart, aren’t you? *smiling* Yes, the school was very nice and the students were terrific! No, we didn’t do any math with the students, but maybe I will the next time I go! Thanks for the great questions!
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:09 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Ms. Lenahan did the kids in Mexico like making caterpillars out of pipe cleaners? Their clothes look nice. Hope you write back.

    Dontae,
    The kids did enjoy making the caterpillars out of pipe cleaners. And their clothes were very nice and colorful, too! Did you notice the pretty ribbons in the girls’ hair? They spent a lot of time getting ready for the celebration!
    Your teacher,
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 12:06 pm
    Permalink

    I saw that the kids made caterpillar.The unaforms look cool.The tortillas look good.

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 7:45 am
    Permalink

    Good morning Ms.Lenahan I know all the kids are happy to have you back, especially Destiny. Thanks for sharing all your memories with Destiny and thanks for the shirt. I know it was a great expirience for you and it is happy to have you back.
    Love
    Luz Hernandez

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 7:34 am
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan, in the first picture i see that you showed the students how to make a caterpillar out of pipe cleaners! Did they like making them? Yes the boys do look nice dancing in thier traditional outfits. I bet they don’t have pizza on friday like we do! But, they would probably like it. Were there different tortillas like wheat or rye? Please write back! 🙂

    Ameena,
    Yes, the kids enjoyed making the pipe cleaner caterpillars. *smiling* The tortillas were all the same, made out of corn. Corn is a very important crop to the people of Mexico. They use corn for flour, tortillas, tamales, cakes and much much more! We had blue corn tortillas in El Rosario! Yes, there is blue corn!
    Your teacher,
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar