Buonas noches

Hi everyone,

Its almost 11pm and we just got back to the hotel. I am very tired after a long day at the colonies in Sierra Chincua. We had an amazing time and saw even more monarchs today.

None of you got my first question correct! The question was: How many yards are in 10,000 feet? The first thing you need to find is how many feet are in one yard. Did you do that? If you aren’t sure, use the yard stick in the front of the room or ask Mr. Gaffney for help! Come on chicos!

Alexandra, Stephanie, Lee’Sa, Sleyker and Dontae got question #2 correct! Yes, the butterflies are drinking water. No Dariel, they are not taking a bath like your brother needs to! Thanks for making me laugh so hard!

This is a photo taken as we hiked the trail to the colony at Sierra Chincua. I never realized there were such beautiful places to see in Mexico. The view was breath-taking and the air so crisp and clean! All you could hear was the wind blowing in the trees and two ravens calling to each other.

Fifteen of the group chose to hike the first part of the trail, the rest of the group did the whole trail on horseback. After we hiked for about an hour, then we met our horses and our guides. Yes, your teacher rode on a horse up the mountain! My guide’s name is Raul and his horse’s name is Ralampago and both of them were very nice. Raul was about 20 years old and he spoke almost no English. He helped me up into the stirrups and we were on our way!

I am going to make this a shorter post as it is getting to be almost midnight. Here are a few pictures from Chincua. It is probably one of the most magical, spiritual, mysterious places I have ever been to. The amount of monarchs was huge and this time we were right in the midst of the mariposas.
To see them cascading down the mountain was very moving. I had all of you right there with me and thought of you all as the monarchs flitted and fluttered overhead. I wish you could have heard the sounds of their wings whispering as they circled above.
Questions to answer:

1. How many yards are in 10,000 feet?

2. What does cascading mean? Write a definition and a sentence using the word cascade or cascading.

3. I wrote that Raul helped my up into my stirrups and we were on our way. What are stirrups? Write the definition.

I am looking forward to reading all your terrific answers tomorrow night. Please ask Mr. Gaffney for the dictionaries and for help if you need it.

Thanks for being such a terrific class. I am going to bed. Buonas noches…snoring…………

36 thoughts on “Buonas noches

  • February 6, 2012 at 11:12 am
    Permalink

    that is a nice picture of you ms.lenahan when your on the horse did you go on a trip there to get on the horse because thats what i think you did
    Sincerly,
    Shalese

    Reply
  • February 24, 2009 at 1:15 pm
    Permalink

    The Red Wabler was beautiful.I wish they were here or I was there.Ms.Lenahan I am going in your suitcase.

    Reply
  • February 23, 2009 at 7:08 pm
    Permalink

    Xay & I are so happy that you are back from your vacation. The pictures are beautiful….I love the horse!!! There looks to be a million butterflies in the other picture.

    Reply
  • February 22, 2009 at 1:02 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Ms. Lenahan! I am checking out your website here! Your class sounds terrific, and what a great blog! I will show your class’ website to my class here in Winnipeg, Canada when I go back tomorrow. I am back in Winnipeg today after getting back from Mexico. We have lots of snow here and it is quite cold but I am so glad to be back home. Mexico was the most awesome trip wasn’t it?
    I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of your website now.
    🙂 Lydia aka Mrs. Penner

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 7:50 pm
    Permalink

    I hope you had a wonderful experience and I can not wait to here about your visit. I know the entire school is excited to here about the butterflies and you adventure in Mexico. Lastly, I hope you have a safe trip home.

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:54 pm
    Permalink

    Stirrup-either of a pair of small light frames often of metal hung by straps from a saddle and used as a support for the foot of a horseback rider. Ms.Lenahan I got the information from the classroom dictionaries.

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:42 pm
    Permalink

    A Haiku:
    Were thankful for you!
    We all appreciate you!
    And Moonarchs do too!

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:36 pm
    Permalink

    Haiku

    Monarchs are so fun
    Too bad you couldn’t take me
    Monarchs are so fun.

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan wasnt it scarry riding on a horse up a mountain? Is that John next to you?

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:21 pm
    Permalink

    A Haiku:

    Flying is awesome
    You can fly like a Monarch
    Butterflies are fun

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm
    Permalink

    A Haiku

    Flying is awesome.
    But butterflies are cooler.
    And so are monarchs.

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm
    Permalink

    Monarchs are so cool
    Monarchs are pretty like you
    Monarch are so fun

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 10:19 am
    Permalink

    Wow, you make me want to go to Mexico. I hope you enjoy your trip and learn lots of new things to tell us when you come back.

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 9:36 am
    Permalink

    Hello there, Mrs. Lenahan. I see that you are having a great time. Do not get any crazy ideas you do have to come back home. I feel like I am there with you as I read your words. The pictures are great. Enjoy yourself. C U Soon!!

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 9:14 am
    Permalink

    OK, Ms. Lenahan- something isn’t right! This is my third attempt to post a comment on this entry! Your writing is so captivating, I almost feel as if I’m right there with you in butterfly paradise. This week has flown by- we’re all so anxious to see you, hear your tales of adventure, and see all of the photos. Hope this one gets through!

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 8:35 am
    Permalink

    Hi Ms. Lenanhan,
    You sound like a true writer….It is as if I am reading a best selling non fiction novel. I previously posted a comment…never saw it. Hummm, don’t even think about staying…come on home.
    Mrs. English

    Reply
  • February 19, 2009 at 11:02 am
    Permalink

    Stirrup is like a frame of metal hung by sraps from the saddle and its to hold the foot of a horesback rider.

    Reply
  • February 19, 2009 at 10:04 am
    Permalink

    Hey Mary,
    Im loving everything that you have posted.I glad u made it to Mexico safe and sound. Enjoy your journey!

    Reply
  • February 19, 2009 at 7:58 am
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan, there are 3,333 yards in 10,000 ft. Cascading means a small steep waterfall. In Maui, Ms.Lenahan saw many cascading waterfalls. Stirrups are a ring with a flat bottom hung by a strap, usaully on each side of a saddle. Ms.Lenahan , I can’t wait untill you come back! 🙂

    Reply
  • February 19, 2009 at 5:53 am
    Permalink

    Did the horse speak any english? How do you say “Whoa!” in spanish? It looks like you are having a great time and learning a lot. I cannot wait for you to come back and share all that you have learned with us. I love you and miss you Ms Lenahan! Hurry home.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 7:34 pm
    Permalink

    I can’t beleive you rode on a horse. I bet you had fun. It sounds like you had a great day. That must be a special place if all the butterfly’s go there. How’s the food. I bet it is good. Well have fun

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 6:09 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Mary, I feel as though I am right there with you. The mountains are breathtaking! Wouldn’t it be grand if all we could hear was the wind blowing in the trees and two ravens calling to each other? It looks so peaceful!Talk to you soon, Wendy

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 2:29 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Ms. Lenahan,
    I have to tell you that your class is the most well behaved group that I have ever had and they’re pretty sharp too.
    All are working hard and miss you.
    Mr. Gaffney

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:50 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Ms.Lenahan it is Sedrick I’ve have answered all your questions and here they are. 1.3,333.333 yards are in 10,000 feet. 2.cascading means a waterfall descending over a steep,rocky surface. I was cascending over the steepy woodchips. 3.stirrups are loop rings or other contrivance of metal,wood,leather suspended from the saddle of a horse to support the rider’s foot.
    Dear Ms.Lenahan are you having a fun time in Mexico? because the way you were crying on friday got me curious so I don’t know if you are homesick or what. Have a great day.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:49 pm
    Permalink

    Do you feel Worried us? Well you shouldn’t because Mr.Gaffney is a really good and he thought us a trick about how to do the times tables for 11s.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:41 pm
    Permalink

    1.There are 3,333 ft. in 10.000 yards and divided 10,000 by 3.
    2.cascading-a steep usually small water fall.I was looking at the cascading.
    3.stirrups -use as a support for the foot of a horseback rider.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:39 pm
    Permalink

    In Puerto Rico I saw a cascade as the water dropped down.
    There are 3ft. in 1 yard.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:32 pm
    Permalink

    1.10,000ft is about 3,333 yards I did 10,000 divide by 3.
    2.cascading is to rush down.At the water fall the water was cascadding douwn.
    3.sturrips the a small light frame often of metal hung by straps.People wear stuurrips when they hores back riding.
    I’s so cool you can hores back ride.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm
    Permalink

    1.There are 3,333 ft. in 10,000 yards and I divided 10,000 divided by 3.
    2.I think cascading means soething rushing down.Like some people call a waterfall a cascade.
    3.stirrups-is the support for the foot of a horseback rider.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:21 pm
    Permalink

    For question number one there are 3,334 yards in 10,000 feet.I got my answer by doing 10,000 divide by 3.
    For question number two cascade means: a steep usually small waterfall. I saw a cascade at South Caarolina.
    For question number three stirrup means: either of a pair of small light frames often of metal hung by straps from a saddle and used as a support for the foot of a horseback rider.
    Ms. Lenahan was your trip to Mexico fun? Ms.Lenahan Mr. Gaffeny is a awesome teacher. How many butterflies do you think you see?

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:21 pm
    Permalink

    For question nuber 1 its 3,000.Mr.Gaffney helped us with that question, we did the math on the board there are 3 feet in a yard so we divide 3 and 10,000.For question 2 cascade means rush down in big quantities.The waterfall cascade to the water.For question 3 stirrups is a loop, ring, or other contrivance of metal, wood, leather, suspended from the saddle of a horse to support the rider’s foot.And I happy your having fun in Mexico.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:16 pm
    Permalink

    1. there are 333.33 are in 10,000 yards. There 3 feet in yard an divided 3 into 10,000.
    2. Cascading- To fall in or if in a cascade.
    I hope you feel better Ms. Lenahan. I can’t wait until you come back.
    I was cascading down a steep cave calling for help.
    3.Stirrups- The saddle on the horse made for you to get on.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 1:15 pm
    Permalink

    For question #1 there are 3,333.1 yards in 10,000 feet. I got this answer by doing division. I divided 10,000 feet by 3 feet in a yard. Question #2 , Cascade- a steep a waterfall. Another name for a waterfall is a cascade. Question #3, Stirrups- a pair of small light fraimes metaly huns from sattles for horses. Also I hope you have fun in Mexico.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 12:00 pm
    Permalink

    2. Cascade means something falling or rushing forth in quantity.

    I like to watch as the coins cascade into the coin counter at the bank.

    3. Sturrips are a pair of small light frames or rings for receiving the foot of a rider that are attached by a strap to a saddle and used to aid in mounting and as a support for while riding.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 11:48 am
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan there are 3feet in a yard therefore it should be about 3,333 yards in 10,000 feet. If rounded off it would be about 3,000 yards. Like my first answer.

    Reply
  • February 18, 2009 at 8:45 am
    Permalink

    Hi Mary, What beautiful pictures! I’m so jealous. Can you get a picture of the butterfly “clumps”?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar