El Rosario Butterfly Sanctuary!

I finally made it to the place where our 26 monarchs hopefully migrated! We had a very long bus ride, about 2 1/2 hours over some very bumpy roads that climbed steep into the Transvolcanic Mountain Ridge.  The bus took us through a variety of towns and villages. We saw farmers working their fields with horse and plow.  We saw men and women tending their sheep, goats and cows in fields. We saw school children in their clean, green and white uniforms playing outside. As we drove further into the mountains, my ears kept popping. The colony is located at about 10,000 ft. elevation. 1. About how many yards is that?

Once we got off the bus and everyone had a chance to use the bathroom, our hike up the mountain began! It was kind of a difficult hike, the climb was steep and the elevation made it difficult to breathe. We saw many birds along the way. One of my favorites was the red warbler Our guide said they eat the monarchs, but later we learned that that was not true. According to Erik, there are two that eat our beautiful butterflies in Mexico–the oriole and the grosbeak. We did not see either of these two birds and I am glad!

We continued our climb up the steep mountains, passing many flowering plants and trees. A few monarchs flitted around our heads making all of us even more excited than we already were! When will we see the colony? How long will it take to get there? How many butterflies will there be? As we got closer, we saw some clumps of monarchs hanging from tree branches. We made sure not to disturb them, admired their beauty and continued on our way.

Next we can to a few monarchs on the ground. Here is a photo: 2. Can you guess what they are doing? Please write your answers in complete sentences when you post!

We are now near the top and we can see the mariposas monarca in the distance. How many are there? Hundreds? Thousands? Millions? My heart beats faster and I look up…

 

I have many more photos to share and more to tell, but I must go to sleep now. Tomorrow we head to Chicua and another monarch colony. To my students: please read everything carefully! Don’t just look at the pictures and post. Read what I have written here for you. And after you are done posting here, make sure you read and post on the previous posts as well.

¡Sea bueno!

 

28 thoughts on “El Rosario Butterfly Sanctuary!

  • February 25, 2009 at 2:24 pm
    Permalink

    I miss you all! I am sorry that i did not email you for along time.

    Letisha,
    We all miss you, too! I am so glad you came to check out the blog. Do you like all the pictures from Mexico? How is your new school? Do you like living back in Florida?
    You are greatly missed!
    Love,
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 10:07 pm
    Permalink

    Such beautiful Monarchs. Ypu must have had been happy and joyful when you saw them.

    Destiny,
    Yes, I did feel joyful and even peaceful when I saw the monarchs. What great descriptive words you are using! Keep up the good work!
    Love,
    Ms. Lenahan

    Reply
  • February 20, 2009 at 10:22 am
    Permalink

    hi ms.lenahan this is Deshaun I hope your feelin better.I know how much is in 10,000 feet

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 10:16 pm
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenanhan, good thing you have been working out. Your writing is like reading someone’s journal. I love it!

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 7:00 pm
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan for question 2 I believe the answer is that the butterfles are drinking the water. That is what I think they are doing.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 6:56 pm
    Permalink

    Ms. Lenahan in school today I had to go home because Nurse Bailey said I have a fever. I will be in school on Thursday. For question 1 I believe the answer is 3,000 yards are in 10,000 feet. I hope you have a good time.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 5:28 pm
    Permalink

    Hi.Mary,my messaage was mistakenly sent under bridgets e-mail. I aplologize. You are on an amazing journey and it is so cool that your kids get to experience this with you! Take care and be safe! Your kids miss you!!!!!!

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 2:30 pm
    Permalink

    Hi. Al students claim to have posted today yet I see only seven and some did not answer the questions. Maybe they didn’t hit the submit button. Will fix tomorrow. Hope you feel better.
    Mr. Gaffney

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:31 pm
    Permalink

    1.1,000 is about 50 yards.
    2.On the picture i think th monarchs are drinking the water.
    I hope you have alot of bye.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm
    Permalink

    I think the manarcas are take a bath like my brother needs to.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:17 pm
    Permalink

    The butterflys are getting a drink of water.There are thousands.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm
    Permalink

    For question number 2.I think the Monarch butterflies are mating because the Monarch Butterflies are on each other.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm
    Permalink

    It’s so cool you hiked.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:11 pm
    Permalink

    1.10,000 feet is about 50 yards.2.The monarchs are drinking.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:09 pm
    Permalink

    This picture is a wonderful thing to see. It looks like I am watching the journey of the butterflies on a big screen tv. I thaught the butterflies were actually migrating in front of me.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 1:05 pm
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan for the second question I think the monarchs are mateing.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 12:40 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Ms. Lenahan,
    Thanks again for trusting me with your class. Students are behaving beautifully and working hard.
    Mr. Gaffney

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 12:17 pm
    Permalink

    How are the butterfly populations? How about the overall health of the forest community? I noticed that you said that there were not too much evidence of the birds that eat the butterflies, is that normal or is there a reason for the lack of sightings?

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 9:33 am
    Permalink

    Mary, It is amazing!I wish I could be there too!You must feel so overjoyed. I will talk to you soon. I am going to share this with your reading group.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 8:21 am
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan, I think there are about 50 yards in 10,000 ft. In the picture, I think the monarchs are drinking some water from all of that flying! I can’t believe you were that high hiking! Hope you have alot of fun.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 8:13 am
    Permalink

    You made it! Mazel Tov! You write like a true author…I almost feel as if I’m there with you. Please tell us more about the colonies when you have the chance to post again. Are they larger in number than expected? I’m anxiously awaiting your next update.

    Reply
  • February 17, 2009 at 7:59 am
    Permalink

    Ms.Lenahan your answer will be 3 333.33333 yards.And I love the pics and I miss you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar